OTS Committee

The Orthopaedic Trauma Society Committee

Tim Chesser

Tim Chesser


Tim Chesser is a Consultant Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgeon at North Bristol. He is a former Chair of the BOA Trauma Group and currently sits of the Board for the Falls and Fragility Audit Programme (which runs the National Hip Fracture Database). He is the President of the new Orthopaedic Trauma Society, and sits on the Clinical Guidelines Group for the NICE Hip Fracture Guidelines and Quality Standards.

Matt Costa

Matt Costa

President Elect

Matt is Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery at the University of Oxford and Honorary Consultant Trauma Surgeon at the John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford.

Matt was appointed as Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant at University of Warwick and University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire in 2006, and was promoted to Professor at Warwick Clinical Trials Unit in 2011. Matt moved to Oxford to take up the post of Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma in 2015.

Omar Sabri

Omar Sabri

Secretary & Membership

Omar was appointed as a Consultant in Trauma & Orthopaedics at Newcastle University Hospitals in April 2012 whilst still on fellowship in London and commenced his full time post in September 2012. His current post involves the management of general and complex trauma in the North East’s major trauma centre (Royal Victoria Infirmary) including pelvic and acetabular reconstruction, in addition to performing simple and complex hip arthroplasty on the same site.

Sunil Patil

Sunit Patil


Sunit is a consultant orthopaedic trauma surgeon at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire. He trained in the Northern Deanery and undertook trauma fellowships at Edinburgh and Toronto. His clinical interests include pelvic and acetabular fractures, polytrauma, peri-articular fractures and chest trauma. He is also the lead for musculoskeletal sciences at Warwick University for the MBChB course.

OTS members will soon be able to access OrthoEvidence